IMG_20160616_092208I ran a diary during ramadhan two years ago. I spent the month at my uncle’s and as such, I could spare time to write during sahur or in the evening. I however did it for the first 20 days alone. Last year unfortunately, I couldn’t keep that trend up. I planned something bigger for this year but as Allah would have it, it couldn’t happen yet, which is the reason I decided to improvise by making the page “Nana Bee Scribe.” πŸ™ŠπŸ‘‚ SecretΓ©! Lol

Sometimes our plans just don’t follow suite. We draw outlines of how we wanna spend the rest of our moments, days, weeks, months, years and even our entire lives; for those who are smart at planning. But Allah already said in Surah Al-Anfal verse 30 that “… They plan, Allah also plans; and Allah is the best of planners.” As Muslims, we shouldn’t make plans and have hundred percent assurance of how it would turn out. We are the people of “Alhamdulillah” in every of our situations. If it turns out well, thank Allah. And if it doesn’t, it’s still all thanks to the Almighty.

Back to track now. I saw a pre-ramadhan manual on how and why one should make a “jar” of good deeds. The jar is simple to make but I couldn’t particularly lay my hands on any jar. You just have to pick up an old clean jar and tape a label around it. And that’s all. You would write out an act of deed each on 30 pieces of papers afterwards, and put them in the bottle. Each day of Ramadhan, you would pick out each one and ensure you act that deed written in it. i.e. “Feed a fasting Muslim”, “recite 3 juuz” etc. I liked the idea but I couldn’t do it as I had no jar.

I wanted to this, but as I counted the days all the way to day 4 of Ramadhan diaries, there was no jar in view. On the 4th day, myself and a group of sisters ‘online’ decided that we make a jar each, and deposit a paper with a good we did during the course of the day in the jar, when we retire at night. It’s simple. Each day before or after iftar, you would just ponder over your activities of the day and write down an act of deed or two on a thin piece of paper and deposit it into the bottle. Taada!

This idea was awesome but then, I still hadn’t found a jar. The only jars I have are in use and I soon forgot about the jar-thing.

As I was clearing my table on day “09” I caught sight of my empty groundnut bottle on the table. It never occurred to me to use the bottle as I still had groundnuts in it, but as at that moment, I had finished up the remaining nuts. A bottle isn’t a jar, but a bottle can do what a jar can. So, i picked up the idea.

But then, i had a problem. Ramadhan wasn’t even at its beginning, it was nearing the middle and I was supposed to have started on day 1. I thought of dismissing the idea as every other person must have started theirs on the first day, rendering me far behind schedule. As I kept deliberating what to do, I remembered the conversation I had with a pen friend a few days ago.

This friend ran a Ramadhan diary last year and told me she would this year as well. But as Ramadhan was nearing the 7th day I realized she wasn’t. She said she couldn’t anymore because she didn’t start on time. I told her it was ‘better late than never’ and she could just make her diary into 3 parts – after the first ten days, the second and the third, rather than give up completely on it. It would be like a summary of the 3/parts of her Ramadhan activities. I didn’t think she would adopt the idea but she did. She marvelled at the idea and decided she would do that in sha Allah.

As I remembered that conversation, I decided I was going to start my jar of deed-thing too on the 11th day of Ramadhan. It is ‘better late than never’ after all. And you know what? Yesterday night before I turned in, I thought of something good I did during the day but bruhhh, it was hard to lay my hands on something. I kept racking my brain and then I remembered that I hugged a colleague yesterday afternoon. I found out she did something commendable and then I went up to her and gave her a hug. 😼 It’s an act of deed too coz it made her smile 😺. And so, I filled it in on my first piece of paper…. πŸ‘πŸ’ž
_______
Before you give up on an act of deed, remember, you might never get the chance to do another again. “It is always better late, than never.”
How is fasting? Mine is Ahhh πŸ˜ͺ😷😎 Patiently waiting for iftar πŸ™†πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ˜‚
#RamadhanDiaries #Day11 #NanaBee

