“On the authority of Abu Sa’eed al-
Khudree (ra) who said:
I heard the Messenger of Allah (saw)
say, ‘Whoso- ever of you sees an evil,
let him change it with his hand; and if
he is not able to do so, then [let him
change it] with his tongue; and if he
is not able to do so, then with his
heart — and that is the weakest of
faith.’
[Muslim]”

Yesterday, during taraweh, a lady in the row in front of mine had a yellow pull-over on, and it had all over it, bright faces of Smiley staring from every angle of the cloth. Being that Islam shuns observing salat with clothing that has inscriptions or drawings of living things on it, I felt the urge to tell the lady that it wasn’t permitted to wear such an outfit to the masjid. But then, you can’t just tell someone something just anyhow. People usually find offence in corrections, especially when it has to do with matters of worship and religion as a whole. I could only look on; preparing to say something and then back off eventually.

As taraweh is known to be the only congregational salat (though voluntary) that people observe in part or full changing positions every now and then, this lady for some reasons ended up beside me. The rows grew shorter and there were shuffles here and there. I turned during the course of one of the rakaat, and realized we were side by side. Banter!

Earlier on, i had changed the situation with my heart; which is the weakest. I didn’t want her to feel bad or act all “is-it-your-business” so I didn’t tell her anything. But then, Allah brought her all the way to my row and so I couldn’t watch on anymore, I just had to tell her. After that round of salat, I did tell 👀 and guess what? She responded with normalcy. She acted like someone who doesn’t mind what you say as long she’s learning something new. And to me, ir was “Alhamdulillah!” I practically used two ways to correct her; my heart first, then my tongue.

___
Knowledge is a lifelong activity that has no beginning nor end, as we humans can never know it all. We need to open our minds to opportunities for learning or imparting.
Remember, when some of the dwellers of hell are instructed to go into it on the day of judgment, they would request that Allah allow them go with certain people, who saw them engage in misdeeds in the world but never corrected them nor called their attention to the path of guidance.

May Allah guide us all aright.
🐝😀 #Day4 #RamadanDiaries #nanabeeIMG_20150618_231158

