Sahur is like the fuel that determines how far a vehicle can travel. Though certain people think they would be better off without sahur, its essence and benefits can never be overemphasized.

2 years ago, I eat sahur like every other person around me does. Rice, semo, and the likes were cool meals and I barely missed my sahur. Last year however, things turned new colors for me and every sahur I took, for the first six hours of my day, was literally disturbing. I wouldn’t feel comfortable and my stomach would be unsteady as well. And so I decided to try new things…

I started taking anything with milk for sahur. It started with eating a whole meal and then drinking some milk or even consuming dried milk directly, after the meal. Alas, my fasting became more bearable and as such, I moved to taking cereals; since they are meals that naturally go with milk. After some while, I stopped eating rice, spag and the likes for sahur. I could only take a snack, pap, oat etc, and it would feel like I wasn’t even fasting at all πŸ™Œ.

Though it does seem really outlandish to my folks, it feels really on-point to my body system and that’s the most important if I do want to have a hitch free “fast.” I don’t eat joint sahur and stuff as nobody wants such for sahur😞, but it makes my days better and more productive πŸ˜€πŸ’ͺ.
________
Know what works for you. You don’t have to eat too much or too little for sahur. Listen to your stomach and the bells it rings when there is a shift in your usual routine. Remember, “you are what you eat” 😸…
May Allah accept our fasts as acts of worship…

Do have a wonderful night rest and a pleasant sahur πŸ˜œπŸ˜ƒ

