1465187245954Due to the fact that we are used to our bodily features, we barely appreciate them. We are expected to do our tasbih & co on a daily basis as ways of gratification to the most High but we sometimes find doing such things insignificant. We forget that the breathe we get for free, is being paid for by/for others.

On Ramadhan, the 1st, 1437, I happened to spend the bulk of the hours of the day at an eye clinic. I went there in the morning hoping to return by 10:30 so as to be able to attend my classes for the day. I was to have 3 different classes from 10-4 in a row. Unfortunately, I attended none! My purpose at the hospital was to get an eye examination done and as such, I had to wait for the power supply to be available. While waiting, I watched as a blind old man (maybe not completely blind) was been led away by a little boy. I wondered how it actually felt to not be able to see the people you interact with. After performing my eye examination, the Dr I was to see asked that my eyes be dilated for a further examination, and there came my panic.

I have heard of the word “dilate” before, at a hospital in Lagos, but I thought it was a thing for old people. I got really scared and started thinking of different things. For one, I thought of the pain it would cause me and then the other, I wasn’t even sure. I just didn’t want to be dilated.

The dilation process was simple; not easy. All I needed to do was open my eyes for the nurse to drop droplets into each of them and then shut my eyes for the next 30 minutes or there about. The drops were very painful and I went through the process for about four to five times. In short, I sat on a chair for about 3 hours getting my eyes dilated (with my eyes closed for like 2+ of the 3 hours). It wasn’t a pleasant experience at all.

While I sat for the first 30mins to an hour, I imagined not been able to see and quickly pushed the thoughts out of my mind. People walked around me and the TV was on but I could see anything. I could only use my sense of hearing to figure out what was happening. I wondered what would happen if the dilation would warrant that I would not be able to see for a period of time and then something went the wrong way; causing an everlasting damage. It is wrong to think of bad things but sometimes they help you reflect. Here is what I mean: Prior to the dilation process, I didn’t feel like doing anything. My Qur’an was in my bag but I was cba to bring it out. I wasn’t even doing the tasbih. I was just impatiently waiting for the doctor to attend to me so I could rush back to school to attend my classes. While I was been dilated however, the urge to recite the Quran and doing all the supplications I wanted to do came tugging at me. I felt like my eyes were very important to be wasted on doing “nothing” for even a grain of second. Like it was a treasure that should never be forsaken. And I made a silent duaa that nothing bad should happen to my eyes debarring me from all the things I needed to do with it. Eventually, the process was successful Alhamdulillah.

____
It’s such a pity that often times, we do not realize what we have until we lose them. Our families, friends, education, property, body features, intellects and so on are things we never paid to have. Allah endows us with lots of riches in diverse ways but we barely see them. The fact that a man wants a car should never make him an ingrate for the bike he has. The fact that you want a first class degree shouldn’t make you unappreciative for the second class you bag. The fact that you want to be in a particular place shouldn’t make you think less of where you are now. Never stop thanking Allah, for even the pains you feel could be a step stone to the most beautiful moments of your life. Be a thankful Muslim and focus on the red light, the other things would come handy.
Jazak Allahu Khayr for your audience. 🙂

Watch out for my day 2!
#nanabee #ramadanDiaries

