Tht

Hello Everyone…. How’s fasting going? Fine i guess :P. But in case you are a bit bored, here’s something to water your day. Well, that’s allowed during fasting. It’s just your lungs you can’t water yet 😀 But a lil patience will do. 🙂

In my pre-Uni days there’s this mate of mine at my tutorial. Though a male, we were more like rivals. I am from the arts, which means there is a lot of reading and pronunciation involved, which was basically what made this guy and I edges apart.

When i got to Uni, one of the first people i met on my first tour around was him, and surprisingly, he acted all warm. It was understandable though, it was like our first week in the school and we werent in a literature class, so we could be friends for the time being. To make things better, he told me he was in a different department.

As the academic session rolled by, we saw each other more often as we were in the same faculty, and to my wonder, he always said ‘hi’ first. Enemy turn friend hunh? But then, we werent particularly enemies before, he just scoffs whenever a reading quest or some book analysis involved us both and then i took it as being too girly for a boy and so i disliked him.

Soon, we started to speak about the old days in between classes and then ask of one oldie or the other, and gradually, we’d talk about our courses and how easy or difficult this and that was. Then he started talking about his housemates. He happened to live with 3 other guys who were in higher levels. And then his room mate was a student of his department but in final year. To me, it was a great luck for him, well, so i thought but he said it wasn’t. He had big time issues with every one of them in the house, including the roomie. Thing is, he complained they treat him like trash. They do not recognize his presence whenever they were conversing and their hospitality was fab, like so fab, until 2weeks after he joined the house. His list of complaints were endless that i didnt even know what to say to his stories most times. I just let out sighs and coos, lol. Poor me.

Meanwhile, i had my bads too. I am a muslim -which is vivid enough (lol)- and i stayed in an apartment of 6.There were 5 christains and 1 muslim, Me. I have never been that shocked in my life. Like how can there be just me in the midst of 5 christains? I have had christian neighbours, even friends but these were strangers. Living with them eventually turned out easier and then it made me closer to the deen but bruhhh, it wasnt a piece of cake. So i could understand what this friend of mine was going through. Only that he is a christain and so are his housemates, meaning they have no religioun issues. So why the hating. Plus (NB) we shouldnt even hate people from different religions as they are, potential muslims and are deserving of our good conducts.

To me, my friend must be lagging somewhere but i didnt know how to place that. I actually did tell him he must be doing something wrong and he said no. According to him, he hardly speaks with them and stuff. ‘Yeah! That must be it’ was my reply. ‘Maybe you should chat more with them so you can blend. At least, if you can’t beat them, they say, join them’. That quote doesnt work for me though. If i can’t beat a bunch of ppl, i’d rather arrange to get them beaten! Lol.

My friend kept on complaining. For like the whole of the session there was always a thing he did that wasnt right to his housemates and he despised them the more each day. And then, there was me, the auxilliary adviser, always listening more than giving advices.

Then the big bang, He wanted a place of his own! It isnt a bang that big but i saw it that way. I adviced him against it almost immediately. My point was, he needed to live with people. With humans he hasnt lived with before. You can’t go on well with people if you do not learn to contend with them. We all have issues. Even with your folks or pals there are times you’ld be at loggerheads. I kept on giving him examples from my own hostel life, lol. Btw i was some boxed up girl with my roomies in my freshman at first. So that helped me maintain a good relationship with everyone long enough.

All my effort to make him change his mind proved abortive. Then i suggested he lived with at least one person and he said ‘okay’ with a shrug. Soon, the session ended and black- outttt.

The beginning of my second session was much different. We knew the style a bit. Or perhaps, well enough. I, filed in for hostel yl my friend, took to town as usual. I don’t like off-K. The first time i saw my friend he was full with gist. Gist about, of course, his new apartment. He was happy and he told me everything about it. He was boastful about his painting the place himself as it was his first ‘paint job’ lol. As a student, you would want to save. So, he had to do the painting himself. I was just smiling and laughing when required. But i didnt really comment. I just wasnt okay with his ‘only me apartment’ thing. But i was happy for him. He had good reasons too. They just weren’t enough, to me.

Days passed…. No hostel wahala… he’d just sometimes say, ‘Ahh am happy now. I meet my room the same way i left it. I sleep and rise when i like..’ which are of course good for a student. They just weren’t enough, to me.

And then came another… We were conversing one day after a class and he was like ‘i don’t like mt class mates. Majority of them are so annoying. I dont even want to relate with people in class anymore. I’d just try to keep quiet during classes or side-talks and stuff’. And then i smiled. For i saw that coming….

To be continued…..

Nana Aisha HarunHarun (bee)

